Review ~ A Tempest of Tea by Hafsah Faizal

Posted February 23, 2024 by Melissa in Reviews / 0 Comments

Review ~ A Tempest of Tea by Hafsah FaizalA Tempest of Tea by Hafsah Faizal
Narrator: Maya Saroya
Published by Macmillan Audio on February 20, 2024
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
3.5 Stars
Amazon B&N Apple Books Audible Google Play
Goodreads

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

From Hafsah Faizal, New York Times–bestselling author of We Hunt the Flame, comes the first book in a hotly-anticipated new fantasy duology about an orphan girl and her crew who get tangled in a heist with vampires, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows.

On the streets of White Roaring, Arthie Casimir is a criminal mastermind and collector of secrets. Her prestigious tearoom transforms into an illegal bloodhouse by dark, catering to the vampires feared by society. But when her establishment is threatened, Arthie is forced to strike an unlikely deal with an alluring adversary to save it—and she can’t do the job alone.

Calling upon a band of misfits, Arthie formulates a plan to infiltrate the dark and glittering vampire society known as the Athereum. But not every member of her crew is on her side, and as the truth behind the heist unfolds, Arthie finds herself in the midst of a conspiracy that will threaten the world as she knows it. Dark, action-packed, and swoonworthy, this is Hafsah Faizal better than ever.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale that goes towards keeping the blog running.

A Tempest of Tea is book one in the Blood and Tea series. I have enjoyed Hafsah Faizal books in the past and knew I had to read this series. I’m so glad I read this book; I’m dying for the next book in the series to come out. This book does end of a cliffhanger so heads up for that. It is so worth it though.

A heist, a found family, and vampires, oh my! There wasn’t a dull moment in this novel, and I thought the world building was fantastic, it just draws you in. The characters were done so well and make this book shine. Arthie Casimir runs Spindrift, a tearoom that turns into a blood house for vampires at night. While not exactly legal, they find ways to skirt around the law. And when things are not going their way, they do what they need to do and organize a heist of the Athereum. With so many twists and turns you do not see coming, you will not want to put this book down.

The Narrator:
This was my first audiobook narrated by Maya Saroya and she did a fantastic job at bringing A Tempest of Tea to life. I was engrossed by the first chapter, and she really helped bring the story to life.

Divider