Review ~ Night Shift by Charlaine Harris @RealCharlaine

Posted June 13, 2016 by Tanya in Reviews, Urban Fantasy / 2 Comments

Review ~ Night Shift by Charlaine Harris @RealCharlaineNight Shift by Charlaine Harris
Narrator: Susan Bennett
Length: 10 hrs 54 mins
Series: Midnight Texas #3
Published by Ace on May 3, 2016
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 308
4 Stars
Amazon B&N Apple Books Audible BAM

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

At Midnight’s local pawnshop, weapons are flying off the shelves—only to be used in sudden and dramatic suicides right at the main crossroads in town.

Who better to figure out why blood is being spilled than the vampire Lemuel, who, while translating mysterious texts, discovers what makes Midnight the town it is. There’s a reason why witches and werewolves, killers and psychics, have been drawn to this place.

And now they must come together to stop the bloodshed in the heart of Midnight. For if all hell breaks loose—which just might happen—it will put the secretive town on the map, where no one wants it to be...

We are back in Midnight, our town of misfit paranormals. We don’t have big groups of one certain type of supe, they seem to be individuals who have all come to seek sanctuary in this little town in the middle of nowhere.

In Night Shift, we are introduced to a possible reason that the supes are drawn here. Being as that Midnight is on a crossroads, of course there is going to be some mysterious, supernatural surprise.

It seems like Fiji is the main focus of this book. We do get parts from the other characters, some relating to the overall crossroads plot. Others to do with our mysterious Olivia. Even those parts, however, have Fiji playing a big role. We see big changes in her throughout the book as she comes into her own witchy ways and it is fun to see. I did enjoy seeing a certain male realize his mistakes, despite goofing up and making things worse for himself.

Olivia has always been curious to me. She is human in amongst all these paranormals, and is in fact committed to Lemuel. She has a lot of secrets though. So far, she has always gone out of town to take care of the deeds or work she has to do. But her previous life catches up to her in Night Shift. She is a Midnight citizen though, and they will back their own. I was surprised at the deception a couple of the citizens had been playing. I would never have guessed from the way their roles were played throughout the series.

The solution to the evil approaching Midnight was a little strange for me. But hey, it just fit with the quirkiness of the story. I just can’t help but thinking “poor Fiji”. She stepped up to the plate though and helped save her fellow citizens!

I thought Night Shift was pretty exciting with all it’s twists and turns. The characters are so deep, and hold so many little quirks that you can’t help but be more and more curious about them. This series has become intrigued me more with each book.

About Charlaine Harris

Charlaine Harris has been a published novelist for over twenty-five years. A native of the Mississippi Delta, she grew up in the middle of a cotton field. Now she lives in southern Arkansas with her husband, her three children, three dogs, and a duck. The duck stays outside.

Though her early output consisted largely of ghost stories, by the time she hit college (Rhodes, in Memphis) Charlaine was writing poetry and plays. After holding down some low-level jobs, she had the opportunity to stay home and write, and the resulting two stand-alones were published by Houghton Mifflin. After a child-producing sabbatical, Charlaine latched on to the trend of writing mystery series, and soon had her own traditional books about a Georgia librarian, Aurora Teagarden. Her first Teagarden, Real Murders, garnered an Agatha nomination.

Soon Charlaine was looking for another challenge, and the result was the much darker Lily Bard series. The books, set in Shakespeare, Arkansas, feature a heroine who has survived a terrible attack and is learning to live with its consequences.

When Charlaine began to realize that neither of those series was ever going to set the literary world on fire, she regrouped and decided to write the book she’d always wanted to write. Not a traditional mystery, nor yet pure science fiction or romance, Dead Until Dark broke genre boundaries to appeal to a wide audience of people who just enjoy a good adventure. Each subsequent book about Sookie Stackhouse, telepathic Louisiana barmaid and friend to vampires, werewolves, and various other odd creatures, has drawn more readers. The Southern Vampire books are published in Japan, Great Britain, Greece, Germany, Thailand, Spain, France, and Russia.

In addition to Sookie, Charlaine has another heroine with a strange ability. Harper Connelly, lightning-struck and strange, can find corpses… and that’s how she makes her living.

In addition to her work as a writer, Charlaine is the past senior warden of St. James Episcopal Church, a board member of Mystery Writers of America, a past board member of Sisters in Crime, a member of the American Crime Writers League, and past president of the Arkansas Mystery Writers Alliance. She spends her “spare” time reading, watching her daughter play sports, traveling, and going to the movies.